## **PARISH COUNCIL**

Diocesan Pastoral Councils have their origins in the Second Vatican Council. "In Christus Dominus".

The parish council is a lay advisory board made up of representatives of the parish and appointed by the pastor to assist in carrying out the mission of our church. Members are appointed for 4 four year terms and can serve two terms. There are five meetings held throughout the year except for July and August.

**MISSION:** To pray together and share our time, talent, and resources, embracing the belief that each child is a child of God and that God's presence is in all of us.

**PURPOSE:** Parish Council members working together with our pastor to minister to the needs of parishioners by investigating and weighing matters which bear on pastoral activity and to formulate practical conclusions regarding them; serve as a forum for issues of pastoral significance; and serve as a link of communication between the pastor and parishioners.

**VISION:** "Journeying with Christ in Faith and Hope".

**GOALS:** To increase the parish community's participation and involvement in religious programs, ministries and activities.

To engage the parish community in dialogue and create open communication between the pastor and parish members to identify parish needs and solutions to those needs.

## **Members:**

Pastor: Rev. Philip Hamel

Chair: Betty White

Music Director: Mary Codinha

Gay Spirituality Group: Brian Michaelan

St. Vincent De Paul: Loretta Alves

Knights of Columbus: Jim Abeln

Member at Large: Carrie Lopes

Member at Large: Fran Coco

Parish Nurse and Visitation: Eileen Cabral, RN

Religious Education: Lori da Lomba

For questions and/or suggestions please contact the Parish Council Chair via the **Contact Us** page on this website.